I’m melting!!

Looking like an idiot hand-fanning...doesn't actually work. In case you were wondering.

Looking like an idiot hand-fanning...doesn't actually work. In case you were wondering.

One Arabic phrase I will never forget is ‘kteer chaub’ – translation: it’s really fucking hot. It’s 3pm, 90 degrees Fahrenheit, 32 Celcius, humid as all hell and we have no air conditioning. 90 degrees doesn’t sound too bad, but the humidity makes it feel about 1000 x hotter, and sticker. I live in front of the fan. And if I walk around outside for more than 15 minutes (which I have to do regularly), I am completely soaked – we’re talking literally dripping, clothes a shade darker because they’re wet. In this respect, I’m not totally Lebanese. I’m not saying the Lebanese don’t sweat – they do. But they seem to do it with class. They get this nice glow or shine as opposed to me, who looks like I’ve just been dunked in a water tank. If people comment, I should just say that I’ve come from the pool. Oh, it’s that bad.

Omar!

Omar!

On a happier note, I’m meeting my friend Omar (another classmate from ALPS) for drinks tonight at de Prague so that should be fun. De Prague at night is really cool too – it’s always packed, smoky, filled with candles, everyone sitting around drinking Almazas or wine, American music from the 80s and 90s blasting, and they give you cherries and apricots (mish-mish!) with your drinks. Nice!

Leave a Reply

