But, Friday never hesitate!

Up at 8:45am, wolfed down a bowl of cornflakes and threw some clothes on before sprinting out the door, late for class as usual. Luckily, my class is about a 5-minute, fast-paced walk from the apartment (I’m not good at the whole running thing), so I was only about 10 minutes late…still, oops.

Map to my Arabic class - Right now, Cousin Stephen and I are living just off Jeanne D'Arc Street

Map to my Arabic class - Right now, Cousin Stephen and I are living just off Jeanne D'Arc Street

Arabic class until 11am, chicken schwarma from a street vendor for lunch – cheap and oh-so-delicious – and then a stop by Librairie Antoine, the local English/French/Arabic language bookstore in Hamra. History nerd that I am, and knowing embarrassingly little about Lebanon (especially given that I’m half Lebanese and staying here for 2 months…oops again), I bought ‘A History of Modern Lebanon’ by Fawwaz Traboulsi, and the Lonely Planet Guide to Lebanon and Syria. Then I spent the rest of the afternoon in De Prague, a cafe in Hamra, reading. So happy 🙂

De Prague is an amazing cafe. Now tied with Cafe Younes as my favorite in Beirut. Because it’s near the American University of Beirut (AUB) campus, it’s always packed with students.  The food is delicious, they put rose-water in their lemonade, there’s good music, free wifi, comfortable couches and good company – what more do you need?? 

Inside Cafe de Prague

Inside Cafe de Prague

After a chill afternoon with my delicious new books, I headed home for a quick siesta and made plans with new friends to meet up tonight. And now, it’s 9:30 pm, and I have to get ready to go out in Gemmazye – it’s Friday night in Beirut!! I’ll let you know how it goes! Happy weekend!!

One response to “But, Friday never hesitate!

  1. Colette! I’m so glad you have a blog so I can read all about the wonderful things you’re up to! Glad to see that all is well!
    -Kamilah

Leave a Reply

