Belated Birthday Breakfast in Beirut!

So first of all, I’m in Beirut! George is taking a month off to visit family back in San Diego, so I’ve come up to Beirut for the next 2 months to visit Stephen and study Arabic. We arrived on July 2nd and wah! I love this city!! I’ve been here before, but only for a week each time, so I’m excited to have a chance to stay a little bit longer. Arabic classes start on Monday -wish me luck!!!

IMG_0344As for the birthday breakfast – it’s a tradition in my family that every year on your birthday, Dad makes you a pancake in the shape of your age. Last year, I made pancakes in Madrid with my friends Dom and Sebastian, but this year, I was in Ramallah and didn’t get a chance to make my traditional birthday pancake. But, Jad and Shadee – my awesome cousins!! – found out about all this and surprised me this morning with a belated birthday breakfast!

My cousins and accomplished makers of pancakes, Jad and Shadee

My cousins and accomplished makers of pancakes, Jad and Shadee

It was so sweet of them!! Not to mention a delicious breakfast! Stephen even helped them make a homemade fruit syrup with apricots (called mish-mish in Arabic – I love that!!) and cherries. Sooo good! I love my family!!
Now that I've eaten the pancake, I'm officially 24! Huzzah!

Now that I've eaten the pancake, I'm officially 24! Huzzah!

Leave a Reply

